Seth Blackshaw PhD

Professor of Neuroscience

2004-2009     Nicole A. Rapicavoli, PhD, doctoral student.  Currently FAS manager, Western Region, 10X Genomics, Redwood City, CA.

2005-2009     Akishi Onishi, PhD, postdoctoral fellow. Currently Group Leader (Assistant Professor equivalent) at RIKEN-Center for Biodynamics Dynamics Research, Kobe, Japan. 

2005-2007     Marina Avetisyan, BA/MS student. Currently clinical fellow in Medicine, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA.

2005-2007     Alex Huang, MD/PhD student (co-mentored with Dr. Solomon Snyder).  Currently Alfred Voight Professor of Ophthalmology, University of California San Diego School of Medicine.

2006-2012     Daniel A. Lee, BS, doctoral student.  Currently Program Scientist at Schmidt Futures, New York, NY.

2006-2013     Ana Miranda-Angulo, MD, doctoral student.  Currently Professor of Psychiatry, Universidad de Antioquia, Medellin, Colombia.

2006-2016     Jimmy de Melo, PhD, postdoctoral fellow.  Currently Principal Scientist at Astellas Institute for Regenerative Medicine, Westborough, MA.

2007-2012     Erin Poth, BS, doctoral student.  Currently Senior Manager of Global Medical Affairs for Takeda Oncology, Cambridge, MA.

2007-2014     Eric Cox, BS, doctoral student (co-mentored with Dr. Heng Zhu).  Currently Staff Scientist at RefSeq.

2008-2010     Mardi S. Byerly, PhD, postdoctoral fellow.  Currently Professor of Biology, Cape Cod Community College, West Barnstable, MA.

2010-2015     Joseph L. Bedont, BS, doctoral student.  Currently Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences, Kent State University, Akron, OH.

2010-2017     Kai Liu, MS, doctoral student.  Currently Group Leader at Genentech, Division of Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning.

2011-2016    Thuzar Thein, BS, doctoral student.  Currently Resident in Ophthalmology, Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, CT.

2011-2017     Cristina Zibetti, PhD, postdoctoral fellow.  Currently postdoctoral fellow at the University Oslo, Norway.

2011-2017     Elizabeth Newman, BS, doctoral student.  Currently Program Officer at National Institute of Aging.

2011-2013    Juan Salvatierra, post-baccalaureate PREP student. Currently Scientist at Neurona Therapeutics.

2013-2020    Sooyeon Yoo, PhD, postdoctoral fellow.  Currently Research Assistant Professor at Seoul National University Medical School.

2014-2017     Anand Venkataraman, PhD, postdoctoral fellow.  Currently Associate Consultant at ZS, Philadelphia, PA.

2014-2018     Brian Clark, PhD, postdoctoral fellow.    Currently Assistant Professor in Departments of Ophthalmology and Developmental Biology at Washington University School of Medicine.

2015-2021     Fatemeh Rajaii, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology.  Research mentor via K08 fellowship.

2016-2023    Dong Won (Thomas) Kim, PhD, postdoctoral fellow.  Currently Group Leader/Associate Professor in the DANDRITE unit at Aarhus University, Denmark.

2016-2023     Thanh Hoang, PhD, postdoctoral fellow.  Currently Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology, Cell and Developmental Biology at the University of Michigan School of Medicine.

2016-2017     Mobolane Abedesin, post-baccalaureate DDP student.  Currently MSTP student at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine.

2017-2020    Jonathan Ling, PhD, postdoctoral fellow.  Awarded Kavli postdoctoral fellowship and IDIES Seed Fund Program Award.  Currently Assistant Professor of Pathology at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

2018-2022    Kurt Weir, BS, PhD student.  Currently EMBL Interdisciplinary Postdoctoral Fellow working with Drs. Eileen Furlong at EMBL-Heidelberg and Miki Ebisuya at EMBL-Barcelona.

2019-2020     Changyu Sun, BS, MS student.  Currently Neuroscience PhD student at the University of Chicago.

2020-2022     Megan Gimmen, BS, postbaccalaureate DDP student.  Currently medical student at Harvard.