Fri 30th June 2017

Neuroscience Faculty Winners of 2017 Discovery Awards

Congratulations to the the following Neuroscience Department Faculty members for being selected as 2017 Discovery Award winners! 

      Christopher Potter

      Marshall Schuler

      Ernst Niebur

      Patricia Janak

      Jeremiah Cohen


Discovery Award Projects:

Decoding the Effect of Incident Acoustic Waves on the Flight of Mosquitoes – Rajat Mittal (Engineering), Anthomy Cammarato (Medicine), George Dimopoulos (Public Health) & Christopher Potter (Medicine)

Efficient search and its implications for patenting of inventions – Roman Galperin (Business) & Marshall Hussain Shuler (Medicine)

Towards an epidemiology of vision: Developing a platform for population-based visualpsychophysics – Robert Wojciechowski (Public Health), Ernst Niebur (Medicine) & Howard Egeth (Arts & Sciences)

New Approaches for Defining the Role of Neuromodulation in Brain Networks: Building a Collaborative JHU Team for NIH Conte/BRAIN Initiative Funding – Patricia Janak (Arts & Sciences/Medicine), Marshall Hussain Shuler (Medicine) & Jeremiah Cohen (Medicine) 

These are among 26 multidisciplinary endeavors that have been selected to receive support this year from Johns Hopkins University's Discovery Awards program. Each project team is made up of members from at least two JHU schools or affiliates who aim to solve a complex problem and expand the horizons of knowledge.

Altogether, the winning project teams—chosen from 188 proposals—include 86 individuals representing nine schools and affiliates.

For more information:  JHU Hub Article,  2017 Discovery Award Website


Back to news