Mon 1st June 2020

We will not tolerate racism in our community

The faculty of the Hopkins Neuroscience Program and Department are extremely disturbed and angered by the racism and violence targeting the black community. Recent events remind us that as a Department and Program, our diversity is highly valued and central to our mission.

We will not tolerate racism in our community. As always, we support those who may be targeted by racism. We commit to continuing to educate ourselves and to stand up against all forms of racism, discrimination, and bias. We will work together in the coming days, weeks, months and years to eliminate racism in our community and our society. Please feel free to reach out to the Program Co-Directors (Jim and Chris), the Department Chair (Rick), or other faculty for support.




Rick Huganir, Director, Department of Neuroscience

Jim Knierim, Co-Chair of Neuroscience Training Program/ Vice Chair of Education

Chris Potter, Co-Chair of Neuroscience Training Program

Shan Sockanathan, Vice Chair of Faculty, Dept of Neuroscience

Dwight Bergles, Vice Chair of Research, Dept. of Neuroscience

Jay Baraban, Department of Neuroscience Committee on Diversity and Inclusion

Solange Brown, Department of Neuroscience Committee on Diversity and Inclusion

Back to news