Wed 3rd February 2016

Dr. Shan Sockanathan Finalist in 2016 President's Frontier Award

Congratulations to Dr. Shan Sockanathan, a Primary faculty member in the Department of Neuroscience, for being selected as a Finalist in the 2016 President's Frontier Award. 

The Frontier Award was made possible through a donation from two Johns Hopkins alumni: university trustee Louis J. Forster and alumna Kathleen M. Pike. The award will recognize one person each year for five years with funding for their research expenses. When it was announced in October 2014, the program was characterized as an investment in a researcher's future potential, rather than a lifetime achievement award.

University leaders said that in addition to President's Frontier Award winner Bailey, three outstanding 2016 finalists are each being recognized with $50,000 presidential monetary gifts to fund their research and advance their academic pursuits. Those three finalists are Xin Chen, an associate professor of biology in the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences; Michael Hersch, a composer and pianist on the faculty of the Peabody Conservatory; and Shanthini Sockanathan, a professor of neuroscience in the School of Medicine.

Read the full article in the Hub.  

Back to news